Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Please bear with since I'm new to this Ford computer stuff. All my tuning experience is with import stuff.

I have a 1995 Bronco 5.8 w/ SD EFI.

What options are out there for changing my fuel timing maps in my stock SD computer?

Can the stock computer be reflashed or altered via the obd port?

Is it possible to install an EEPROM socket or a daughter board on the SD box?

Are there any external tuning solutions? Could I install an adjustable FPR or larger injectors and then fine-tune the curve using an Air-Fuel computer.

·
aka: kemicalburns
7,874 Posts
Please search, this has been discussed alot.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I've searched and I can't find answers to any of my specific questions.

I know about Megasquirt. Thats one of the options I'm considering but I really don't want to since I have an E4OD. Building an MSnS box, hacking up my wiring harness, and trying to get 2 computers to coexist in my truck isn't worth the headache.

·
Registered
11,108 Posts
Why, it's what Derrick36 and I are both doing for our 393/E4OD setups. The MS system, if you start from the ground up can be an incredible clean, simple install.

What are you changing that you even need to tune for?

·
The Anti Yam!
22,674 Posts
www.twEECer.com

But unless you have maid major engine mods, there is no need to tune the computer. It's not an import, or diesel. It is optimized for the factory engine as it is, just bump the timing a little.

·
Satyr of the Midwest
17,734 Posts
There are a lot more areas that need improvement before changing the factory PCM's mappings. Trust me. Everyone else here is going to tell you the same thing (and some already have). :thumbup

·
Registered
132 Posts