Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 89 5.8 Bronco failed California smog.

The test was done cold.

At 15 mph (1545 RPM) it measured 165 HC PPM (MAX 81) and 1310 NO PPM (MAX 690)

At 25 mph (1526 RPM) it measured 42 HC PPM (MAX 66) and 1161 NO PPM (MAX 592)

So far I have replaced:
Spark Plugs (correctly gapped)
Spark Plug Wires
Fuel Pressure Regulator
Air Filter
PCV
Crankcase Breather Filter
Gas Cap
Fuel Filter
Oil and Oil Filter
and I'm picking up a new Oxygen Sensor today.

The truck is significantly more powerful, in fact, better than it's been the entire time I have owned it for the last ten years. I always felt it had driven quite nicely, in a way I'm glad I had to get it smoged for the first time, however, I'm very concerned about failing the smog test again because I don't want the truck to be labeled a gross polluter. I'm new to the smog stuff, but I feel confident that it will pass the emissions test this time around.

My big concern is that: It passed the entire Emissions Control Systems Visual Inspection/Functional Check Results with the exception of the Ignition Timing. However, I don't think that the issue has anything to do with the timing, occasionally the throttle gets stuck, the peddle will behave normally but the RPM stays very high, 3500+, I can stomp the peddle and rev the engine up further, then release and the RPM drops back to normal. This condition happens after the warm up cycle, and usually occurs during driving conditions, but even after shifting to park it continues. After the truck has been driven around for half an hour or so the throttle isn't sticky anymore.

My scan code reader returned the errors.
12 RPM at idle out of range/high
21 ECT out of Self-Test range MAP/BARO out of Self-Test range.
33 EGR valve opening not detected.
44 Secondary Air Injection system Inoperative (right side).
70 ECM failure