Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1996 Ford Bronco XLT, 5.8, 33s, 4” rough country lift,
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everybody, I just bought a 96 Bronco with a 5.8 in pretty good condition.. minimal rust, 222k on the clock and it runs really good. No ticks, knocks, nothing at all. I am by no means an expert, but my daily is a 94 F-150 with a 5.0 and I’ve put a lot of work into it.

The only problem with the bronco is a really slow crank. When the starter engages, it cranks every 2 seconds about 4 times, then it starts to spin quickly and fires up. It’s been this way since I bought it. I’ve probably started it 25 times or so up until today. Probably 40 times today trying to diagnose it.

I went to pick my wife up at her friends house last night and it wouldn’t start. went to start it and it cranked every ten seconds and never started. I tried manually starting it on the starter solenoid, still a slow crank, no start. I slammed the battery cable and it slow cranked, but started. (Not a good drive home with the wife).

Today, I did the following and it’s still cranking every 2 seconds 3-4 times and then it starts.

New starter, New battery, new plugs, wires, distributor cap, rotor, ignition coil, took the battery terminals from my 95 mustang GT because she’s sitting (she’s beautiful), new ignition relay, cleaned the ground. It still cranks every few seconds 3-4 times then fires up. Maybe I need to replace the distributor itself? New battery wires all the way through? I did bendone of the nuts on the starter solenoid, could that be it? It seems like the batteries dead, but its not. it also seems like the batteries not getting power to the starter.

I’m stumped.

NOTE: after I replaced the starter, which was the first thing I replaced after the battery, it fired right up like it was brand new. Then reverted to its old ways immediately. I bent the bolt on the solenoid after it had already reverted to its old ways.