Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 20 of 99 Posts

·
How did I get 6 Rigs??
607 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I saw a thread sorta similiar to this, which was about something you did to your Bronco today. So today, after pulling one of the stupidist things I have done in a while...I figured that I needed to let everyone know about it and see if I am the only one that does stupid things...or if there are others out there like me. So here ya go......

I was about to do the first oil change on my new '79. Now...I am not a mechanic by any means, and maybe have changed oil in my vehicle 6 times in my life. But, this is not to say I am not mechanically inclined, just always worked for companies that paid for my oil changes.

So, while I am under the Bronco, I start to remove the oil plug. To prevent the oil draining out at an angle, and missing the fancy oil changing container sitting on the ground, I go and get a milk jug, with a funnel, that would raise it up higher. The funnel was real close to the drain plug, and I was confident that I was on my way to a dripless...spotless oil change.

So when I unscrewed the plug, it dropped into the funnel as planned and the oil drained into the funnel/milk jug PERFECTLY...just as I had planned, not a drop of spilled oil anywhere..... for about 4 seconds.

All of a sudden, the funnel started overflowing and oil was going everywhere...all over the ground. PANIC SET IN...as I could hear my wife freaking at the mess on the back driveway, when she saw it.

Still panicing, I figured that the pressure building up inside the milk jug must prevent the oil from draining into it properly, so I lifted the funnel higher to allow the air in the milk jug to escape. Surely the oil would flow into the jug as planned. No luck...oil still flowing out a a very high rate. Puddle of oil about 2 feed wide by now. Imagined sound of wife screaming getting louder in my head.