Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Ford Hoarder
78 & 92
6,716 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone ride one and anyone have some insight for someone looking into getting one?

Pretty sure I want a DRZ400 but I am open to suggestions.

·
Registered
818 Posts
Been a few years ago, but I spent a little time on a DRZ...

Total hoot to ride, but lacking in power and highway riding. Not sure what your goals are, but the DRZ would be a good choice for a city commuter/ part time track bike (short/SM tracks). Not hardcore enough for a full time track bike(without significant upgrades), and not something I would want to ride on the highway (65mph+) much. Perfect for city hooning.

·
Ford Hoarder
78 & 92
6,716 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
No tracks around here, main use would be to goof off on and ride to work on, Two lane highway with 60mph speed limit, I think it would be ok powerwise. Im also new to bikes so I would be buying something around the same power anyways most likely.

·
Registered
54 Posts
The DRZs are supposed to be tanks. I have been interested in a husqvarna SM610 or SMS630. Very cool bikes and they look like a lot of fun. There are always a ton of old modified XR650s and 600s in my area for sale but they typically want too much money. I suppose ease of maintenance and parts availability would be nice for one of those.

·
I did all for the Nookie
7,253 Posts
I have been looking for a donor to build a super moto out of my other KDX. I know the WR is real popular to build out I just want to be different and price is a factor.

·
Ford Hoarder
78 & 92
6,716 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I think I seen that thread Ed, I may consider doing something like that, but I like the eazy part of just going to BMV and getting plates and not having to get it inspected and that. I also have too many projects the way it is for me to consider converting one. I think I have settled on a DRZ400sm.

·
Registered
818 Posts