Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My tailgate motor works. But it only brings the glass down just enough for me to get my fingers on top of the glass. It just stops.

I was trying to do it from outside the truck. I noticed that there is a slight dent on the outside shell from someone backing into something and pressing the spare tire against the tailgate.

Could this dent be keeping the gears inside from lowering the glass? Or is it just an issue of the glass catching on it's way down the track?

I've looked at alot if not all the threads and sites listed for dealing with this tailgate, but cannot find anything for what to do if the glass is up and you can't get it down.

Help! Lol. And be gentle. I'm a noob.

·
Registered
77 Posts
it could be the dent. on my bronco my window track was old and it would do the same thing as yours. i just put some wd 40 in the track and it has been working ever since.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I was trying to avoid having to disasemble everything, but I guess that's what it is going to take.

It sucks having to climb over the drivers seat, and the back seat to get ky tools! So I'd like to have that tailgate open before it gets cold! Lol.

·
Super Moderator
9,695 Posts
Its not too difficult. If you cant get the window all the way down, you will have to take the motor out with the window up. 3 bolts. Not real easy to get to in that contortioned position but it is doable.
You could also unbolt the glass and slide it down carefully. Id rather take the motor out personally to avoid breaking the window.

·
Premium Member
9,990 Posts
FSB member Steve83 has the best tailgate tech in his album bar none, just click on his black Bronco and it should take you right to it.....otherwise I believe it's on www.supermotors.net