Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
1,542 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Folks,

I'm still relatively new to Broncos and have a question regarding normal operating temp. Out of the 2 Broncos I own, only the 93 runs. So I can't use the other one to compare the temp gauge needle among the two.

When I first got the 93 a few months ago, I noticed that the temp gauge needle rarely ever reached the letter "n" in the word "normal" on the face of the temp gauge unless I had driven it for more than an hour. The thermostat was recently replaced with a new, OEM one from the dealer. I noticed that the old thermostat was stuck open, which explains why it took so long to reach normal operating temp. It now reaches normal operating temp fairly quickly, within 10 minutes.

But where is the temp needle gauge supposed to be for it to be normal? In between the letters "o" and "r", or right in the middle of the gauge face, right on the letter "m"? With the old, stuck thermostat, the temp gauge needle would usually get up to the letter "r" after driving it for 2 hours. Sometimes it would sit right in the middle, on the letter "m" if I pushed it up a hill. With the new thermostat the needle is on the letter "r", and sometimes on the letter "m" if I push it. Is that normal, or is it running a tiny bit too hot?

FWIW, the temp needle on the other cars in my family (Toyota and Chevy van), all stay a bit under the half-way mark, no matter how hard I drive it, not right in the middle of the halfway mark like it does on my 93 when I push it.

The 93 has a 302, E4OD combo. I also drained the old coolant and had it flushed.

Thanks for any extra info.

·
Premium Member
7,400 Posts
The temp gauges isn't completely an idiot light, it just doesn't have the temp scale on it. The oil pressure gauge on 87s and up is an idiot gauge and only registers Normal of ~6psi.