1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
7,164 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
leaf sprung axle swap.

See where the drag link is mounted to the tie rod,
Would this work?

I am no steering expert, and i can certainly not afford a high steer set up, or cross over steering.

Whatca all think, is it possible?

·
Registered
13,892 Posts
thats how most coil ones are mounted, but you will be putting a hell of an angl eon the steering to clear the springs, and i imagine bad bump steer due to the angle changing so much due to the shortness of the drag link.

·
Registered
7,164 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
You see I dont want to bend the drag link under the leafs in order to connect it to the tie rod.
I would like to have something custom made where the hole that is usually up by the knuckle placed a few inches over so that the drag link will be straight and connect directly to the tierod eye thing.

I dont see how it would cause bumpsteer if there is no track bar...

Also if the two came together with a normal tie rod end then it would allow it to move back and forth.

I am not disagreeing with you by any means and I respect your experience I am just kinda throwing thoughts out there.

·
tired of your sh!t
2,880 Posts
when your springs move up it will force your draglink left when they move down,the it will yank it the other way. coils do the same without the trackbar matching the draglink angle.

·
Registered
69 Bronco crawler, 85 Bronco dormant baja build, 93 Bronco cruiser, 05 F150 supercharged 5.4 tow rig
359 Posts