Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
946 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
To start I have a '95 with a 351w and E4OD with a manual x-case.
In the winter up here I leave my hubs locked so when I come to a stop or get ready to go around a curve I can engage the 4WD.
While in 4WD and slowing down I started noticing a slight noise that sounded like a whirling sound , kind of hard to explain the noise. I could take it out of 4WD and the noise would go away. At first I thought it was the new gears, but I installed the rear at the same time with no noise.
Now if I drive down the highway around 50mph I start hearing the noise I heard while slowing down, but much louder. I disengage the 4WD and the noise goes away.
I was just driving around here on base about 25mph and egaged the 4WD. I went around a corner to see if it would slide side ways and it did. I don't think the 4WD is engaging anymore.
I'm no expert but I think I have a transfer case problem.
Will a manual transfer case just stop working?
Also, is it hard to rebuild a tranfer case?
I just did a SAS and put 4:88s up front and in the rear. I put 35s on it also. I never heard any noise before. Could these mods just make the transfer case work harder and make me hear it now? :cry :banghead :wtf

·
Registered
2,379 Posts
from what i was told at the drivetrain shop that aftermarket gears arent as quiet as factory gears. the material is harder and more rougher so it would be more noisy.
i dont know how u did ur SAS but after i did my SAS i had the pinion angle pointing in the wrong direction (pinion angle pointing up about 2 degrees from being 0 degree with the driveshaft) and it would make alot of noise with no viberations. i've also noticed my driveshaft near the T-case would rub on the crossmember and sometimes i can hear that.
i may be wrong but check those areas just in case
good luck

Chris

·
TTB Hater of course
3,099 Posts