Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
610 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
All:
First: I'm a newbie to posting, but have been reading the forums for a while, and there is a LOT of great info in here.

I've searched but couldn't find a topic with my particular problem, any help would be greatly appreciated.

I just bought a 91 bronco EB with 302, E4OD and manual BW 1356. This is an upgrade from my little bronco II.

The guy i got it from says the transfer case and trans were rebuilt a few thousand miles ago, and hasnt been used much since. It drives and shifts fine in 2h and 4h, however i cannot get it to shift over to N or 4L. The shift pattern indicated is strait back for 4H, then left and down for N and down and right for 4L. I cannot get the stick to move left from 4H to save my life. I've soaked the linkage thoroughly with PBlaster, and that made shifting to 4H smoother, but i still cannot get it to budge over the the left. And yes the trainy is in N and i got my foot on the brake.

I know on some fords to shift the trans case into N you have to push down towards the ground on the stick. Could it be possible the transfer case taht was put in does not match the linkage in the truck? I've crawled under and it is a 1356, but i cant find any documentation on if it came with the different shift patterns.

·
Registered
239 Posts
There is no left right, it is only foward and backward. Take your foot off the brake and let the car roll a tiny bit and see if that helps. 4L is straight back.

·
Engineer
13,163 Posts
The transmission needs to be in neutral, foot on the brake, and you have to push down on the t-case shifter then pull it back.

·
Registered
610 Posts
Discussion Starter #5