Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
fishin' without dad
1,069 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have searched and read up in Haynes and cannot figure out if there is a way to adjust the TV cable on an AOD by myself. Does anyone have any suggestions as I am having trouble getting my wife under the truck to hold the cable attachment. I don't have any friends:cry................that are willing to help.

·
fishin' without dad
1,069 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
The biggest problem with getting her to help is that she won't. I am 100% positive that she cannot get up into the engine compartment(8" of lift). I have been playing with the idea of using a bungee cord to hold the cable attachment while I re-clamp the throttle attachment. I just don't know if it will be sufficient(I have never done the adjustment before). I don't want to screw it up doing it wrong.

·
fishin' without dad
1,069 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It's been a while since I adjusted one, but as I recall, it's ALL done from the top. :shrug Yours will be slightly different from this pic:

As I read it from the Haynes manual the actual adjustment is done from the top but it says to have someone hold the transmission TV lever against the idle position stop. I think I can handle the adjustment up top but am having trouble getting the wifey under the truck. I just need someone to hold the damn lever under the truck.

The transmission is shifting into gear(R,D,etc.) fine it just will not shift out of 1st when in drive. The fluid level is ok and the only other thing I can find to do to it is the Tv cable adjustment. Any suggestions?

·
OUT OF BUSINESS / M.I.A
4,658 Posts