1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
The Tennessee Warden
96 XL, 5.8L, E4OD, BW1356, 4.56 gears
3,403 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,
Total noob question here:

What is the best way to go about undercoating my rig? It has light surface rust on the frame rails and such but nothing deep or pitted. Is there a way to treat the surface rust before the undercoat without wire-wheeling all the rust off? I would never be able to reach all the nooks and crannies that way.

Thanks guys...

·
Registered
'92 Custom w/ '95 MAF 5.0, 33's, 4.10 LSD
2,217 Posts
I'd like to do the same some day, and always wonder the same thing. I think I've read somewhere that pressure washing is a good approach, but you'd need access to a lift in a shop that doesn't mind a bit of a mess.

·
Registered
1996 Bronco XLT 5.8L
154 Posts
Been looking into this exact thing. Here's something interesting I found that I may give a shot to as the engine and tranny will be out of the truck soon.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

·
Registered
373 Posts
1) There are more 'rust converters' out there than you can shake a stick at. Problem is that they require active rust to adhere. sometimes good, sometimes bad results. Easy to swab on
2) POR or an Epoxy (not some of the other 'chassis paint') Its a wicked mess and it acts upon the idea of encapsulation. Epoxy will chip and peel if exposed to sunlight, so a second coat of enamel paint to protect from UV is a good idea....you basically need to paint it twice
3) The New Hampshire Oil Undercoat system. You can even drive in and they will swab it with oil for $250 or so....done. The oil eventually dries up and it makes the undercarriage a mess to work on, but the easiest.

pick your poison, but broncos rot like crazy, you need to pick one

·
Registered
373 Posts
A note about the video above:
This is the FIRST supposed rust remover I have seen that seems to work
All of the popular ones sold here in the US today seem to work ALOT better on tv than they do in my garage !!!!