Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9,895 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok guys I've never welded before and don't know much about it..

I was told I should get a mig welder with gas hookups.. Well why I've been waiting to be able to affoard it, I was just given a 70 amp Arc welder.. I figure since it's 110v that I won't be able to weld very thick steel..

Can anyone point me to a "difference between welding types" or give me the basics on what I need to know?

·
Registered
1,992 Posts
communtiy college welding class if you have the time. usually VERY affordable and give good instructions and tips to get you ready to weld some decent stuff.

·
Registered
9,895 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
wish I had the time, but right now I'm studying to get my MCP's so I can get my MCSE..

·
Registered
253 Posts
the 70 amp arc should be goo for up to 1/8 in or smaller anything thicker you'll need to slow way down notch your steel and do multiple passes. I'd go with a mig 125 or better to weld almost any of your comman fab's for your truck and houshold uses (mig is the easiest of all welding applications.) also if you're in a shop to weld get the gas it's alot cleaner with no slag. but if you'll be outside alot go with a Flux core it's sheilded without the use of gas.has to be chipped of slag but much better for outside use. hope it helps.

·
Registered
9,895 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
This welder was given to me.. I figured I might be able to try and learn some basics before I spend a ton of cash on a mig welder..

·
Chaos is coming!!
515 Posts