Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
im new to lifting my bronco and adding mods and what not on it i just put a 6 inch lift on my truck and i noticed looking at the forums that a lot of people have a dana rear or fornt im not dumb just wanted to know some info behind that

·
Premium Member
413 Posts
Dana is the company that makes the whole rear diff. Think of it like a brand of tire.

The higher the number the stronger the diff.

Dana 30/35 - 1/4 ton trucks (Jeep/Rangers)
Dana 44 - 1/2 tons (bronco's)
Dana 50 - 3/4 ton trucks (f250)
Dana 60 - 1 ton trucks (f350)

·
Premium Member
23,563 Posts
bronco's never had a dana rear axle.

and a dana 60 rear is pretty worthless in a fsb.

·
Registered
‘90 EB Full Custom build -Mega Truck Bogger
537 Posts
Dana is the company that makes the whole rear diff. Think of it like a brand of tire.

yep ..pretty much what he said..its a namebrand..Spicer makes most Dana axles...Borg Warner make alot of different trannys and transfer cases....firestone makes tires....Dana is just a popular brand/manufacturer of axle

·
Premium Member
23,563 Posts

oh and what about all the other dana axles?

20, 28, 61, 70, 80, s135, and others that have had or have?

·
Registered
537 Posts

Oh Idunno about that my d60's are holding up pretty well:toothless

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
oh alright so dana 44 is what i would want to put on my FSB? are dana meant for offroading ? or just to replace the rear end and diff? and be heavy duty?

·
Premium Member
23,563 Posts
Oh Idunno about that my d60's are holding up pretty well:toothless
if your running a D60 rear with that bronco in your bronco information I am calling BS, or you drive like a fawkin old lady.

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
okay i know about my truck and stuff but im new to this rear and front stuff so front i sdana 44 already and the back is?

·
Premium Member
413 Posts