Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
122 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I dont know where to attach a tow rope to if i were to get stuck. In the front bumper i dont have the little hooks that stick out of the bumper and in the back i just have a 3500lb ball hitch that is on the bumper. where should i attach a tow rope if i get stuck or if i have to pull someone out? Thanks im pretty new to the muddin scene.

·
Registered
271 Posts
ive attached mine to my hitch a few times but i never yank or have had two. sorry for little help

·
Premium Member
144 Posts
Here is what I did in the front. Just a couple of hooks bolted to the inside of the frame rails. It was cheap and easy. In the back you can get a hitch receiver and get one of those removable shackles. I don't know if you should attach anything to your bumper. Has anybody just put a big D-ring in the hole where the ball goes?

·
Premium Member
5,370 Posts
If your gonna wheel get a winch, you can either get one attached to a winch bumper or even a portable hitch one. Bottom line is even if you don't have tow points you still need to get your rig out of the mud, so drivers side of the axle if you have a TTB, from back either side of axle but my back hitch has factory tow spots in there. Good luck finding it if you in the mud:) They sell some really inexpensive winches that will get the job done smitty 299. You need 8 to 10k rated winch to do the job, preferably 10.

·
Premium Member
144 Posts
If your gonna wheel get a winch, you can either get one attached to a winch bumper or even a portable hitch one. Bottom line is even if you don't have tow points you still need to get your rig out of the mud, so drivers side of the axle if you have a TTB, from back either side of axle.

I don't think I would hook anything to the axles. That is a bad idea.

·
Premium Member
5,370 Posts
I don't think I would hook anything to the axles. That is a bad idea.