Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
9,790 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so my old big red jack is about finished (go figure) and its time for a new one. im not a mechanic or anything and dont need something to go through fires and hurricanes and shit but i do appreciate durability. i also know ill pay out the ass for anything made in the us so im getting a cheap one:toothless. right now harbor freight has a heavy duty jack for $100 (80 with my %20 off coupon)

http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/Displayitem.taf?itemnumber=34271

they also have an aluminum "racing" jack for like 60 with a coupon.

http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/Displayitem.taf?itemnumber=91039

i beleive my neighbor has the same heavy duty floor jack and i used it and liked the convenience but im a little worried about the 94 lbs weight since we have a motorcycle jack and it isnt easy to get out cause of shear weight:banghead. the aluminum jack is lighter and cheaper but ive never used one and dont want it to break on me:whiteflag. which one do you think i should get? keep in mind im in college and with all my toys being broken i dont have alot of extra money right now:banghead:whiteflag. thanks guys.

·
Premium Member
5,396 Posts
that shitty orange harbor freight jack is what i've been using.. there's more play in the handle than a nice jack, and sometimes it's hard to twist-unlock it.. and sometimes it bleeds off a little (did that worse when it was newer) but it works fine..... if i were to buy another, i'd probably get the same thing again. its just a jack and it does its job fine.

·
Satyr of the Midwest
17,736 Posts