Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

which tire to buy?

• [url="http://www.denmantire.com/catalog/21.pdf"]Denman Coyote - 305/85r16[/url]

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • [url=http://www.stausaonline.com/light-truck/superlug.html"]STA Superlug - 9.00x16[/url]

Votes: 0 0.0%
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Lifetime Fullsize
113 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

·
Registered
1,028 Posts
I'm running the Good year in the size listed. I've had good results in multiple terrains. Respectable in mud, decent in the sand. They have a fairly stiff sidewall so I run less air than the BFG's they replaced. 8lbs in the sand and 12 on the trail. Good all weather traction on rocks and performed well in the snow.

I have no experience with the others you listed.

·
Registered
1,317 Posts
Going to have to agree with archer. If half of your time is on the highway i wouldn't go with the SSR's i have rode in vehicles with both them and good years and the goodyears seemed to handle weather conditions better. If you are looking for some more options, i would look itno some of the new Mickey thompson styles. No experience with them but the ATZ and MTZ tires have some good specs and reveiws.

·
search, you #$%@! noob
9,995 Posts
i run the mickey thompson atzs on my jeep. they are primarily my dd tires tho. nice street tire but i wouldn't go play seriously in the rocks with them.

i've run mtrs on my bko, my main complaint about them is they do not self clean very well in the mud. awesome rock tire. not bad street manners. a little noisy tho.

i was recommending maxxis bighorns over mtr's as my tire of choice as a dd/weekend warrior tire, but i am just not seeing the mileage i would like out of them. they are siped, which makes them superior to the mtr's, and quieter too, but the siping is basically gone after about 12K miles. the lugs are still fine, however.

·
Registered
22 Posts