Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
not banned
5,969 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have removed the rear quarter and am looking for root causes of why rust began to develop in the "classic" locations.

Just in front of the the wheel well, and just aft of the door jamb, there is a rust hole. This is where the rust builds up that adds to the corrosion that causes the dome lights to go out.

Now that the panel is off, i have a clear view of the relative area. In the bottom of the body support pieces, there is a hole about 1" in diameter. However, there is a rubber grommet blocking it. I would think the grommet was initially placed there to keep water from getting up into this enclosed space. HOwever, doesn't it being there prevent drainage of water?

I am thiking i should remove the rubber grommet to promote drainiage of water.

thoughts.
mj

·
Registered
671 Posts
I am not an expert, but my guess would be that the grommet would be there to prevent water, and foreign debris (mud, rocks etc) from getting trapped in there, and causing rust. I would opt for drilling a hole into the grommet, instead of taking it out.

·
Premium Member
3,109 Posts
I think the rust is caused more by the buildup of dirt that absorbs water than water alone being retained in the panels. I know I pulled about 15 to 20 pounds of dirt-road dust out of both of my rear quarters when I started cutting the fenders for bigger tires. Your biggest enemy is simple dust and dirt, just making sure the water drains won't solve the problem.

·
Registered
117 Posts