Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am switching to a carb and I want to put a set of stock rebuilt heads on my stock 94 351. The heads came off a 80's 351, will these work on a stock 94 351 short block? I don't know much about small block heads and what the differences are. I have always had big blocks in the past for mud racing, I'm new to a small block. I also want to put the biggest cam and carb the stock 351 can handle. Any suggestion what size cam and carb I should go with? I have money but I want to keep this project low budget, and where is the best place to buy the parts cheap?

·
Registered
37 Posts
Someone can correct me if I'm wrong but I believe all stock 351 heads will fit all stock 351 blocks. There are difference from head to head in terms of flow but I *think* you're OK for interference. In fact 302 heads will fit the 351 and are used as a performance mod.

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Someone can correct me if I'm wrong but I believe all stock 351 heads will fit all stock 351 blocks. There are difference from head to head in terms of flow but I *think* you're OK for interference. In fact 302 heads will fit the 351 and are used as a performance mod. Why not use a stock cam with stock heads? You could RV cam it if you wanted a bit more low end. I would think any 650 cfm carb would be adequate but what carb/cam you used depends a bit on what you want to do with the truck. You'll also have to think about what you want for an intake. I've got a 650 cfm Edlebrock street performer intake/carb set-up that's somewhat reasonable on fuel - all on my 85 Full Size.