Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alright guys I'll probably get alot of different opinions on this... but try to keep it general...

I have been fabricating my bronco for the past 3 years and I am at the closing few months until its done. At this point i am ready to get a winch. I also need to build my front bumper. I really don't want one with out the other. And i have a huge fear of dropping $$ on a winch and then being disappointed when i use it.

Here's the Question. In a serious off-road Rig, What are my options for a good, dependable winch? Basically, from your experience with winches, point me in the right direction. I am looking at 5-6k in truck weight, on 38" x 16.5"wide Swampers. I would like a winch that is low in profile so i can tuck it behind the bumper. I would like to use a winch i can use in "stuck" situation and/or use it to negotiate steep terrain.

I don't have a lot of knowledge about winches and there different types unfortunately. This is why i don't want to end up with the wrong crap.

I have a 170 amp alternator on a 12v system for electric winch possibilities,
As well as i have np203/205 combo with PTO options.

Lets here your ideas, i want to buy a winch in the next two weeks and i have a budget i want to stay between $700-$1100.

Thanks for your help, Details appreciated.:thumbup

·
Registered
199 Posts
I'm a fan of installing quality, so Warn is what I went with. I have a Warn 9.5xp with a synthetic rope replacing the steel cable (weight savings). It's a strong motor and well proven, solenoid box can be mounted anywhere which gives you more mounting options. I purchased for around $985 if I remember correctly. When comparing winches, consider the motor output and gear ratio. The Warn 9.5xp is a quick spool.

·
Former owner of Shadofax
17,033 Posts