Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok i have a problem. i go wheelin every now and than but sometimes get stuck. myy buddys dont have good rigs. i need a winch. but im a broke college student. so ive been looking around and i realized i dont know how powerful i need. it would only be if i am stuck. so do i need to get a 3000 lb winch or 8000lb winch i have no clue. thanks

·
Call an amberlamps!
1,349 Posts
this comes down to the "X" factor.

How much coin are you willing to spend?
How deep is the mud your getting stuck in?

8'000 if you can afford it, 3,000 if you cant

·
Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
its nothing to bad when i get stuck just little stuff but harbor freight looks cheap i can get a 10000lb winch for 399.

·
green ones make me horny
11,135 Posts
its nothing to bad when i get stuck just little stuff but harbor freight looks cheap i can get a 10000lb winch for 399.
well there you go and then spend another 100 bucks or so on a real good snatch block and you are all set

link to 10k winch for 399 please

·
Registered
1,733 Posts
If you buy, consider you'll break even on your first tow bill.

·
Enjoy my
6,054 Posts
Figure you will probably need to add another battery and upgrade the charging system...

·
Former owner of Shadofax
17,025 Posts
Figure you will probably need to add another battery and upgrade the charging system...
Dual batts are nice to have, but he does not need it. same with upgrading the charging system as long as he's not doing long, heavy pulls. I've used my warn several times with single optima, stock 95A alternator, no issues with fairly short pulls.

·
Enjoy my
6,054 Posts
Dual batts are nice to have, but he does not need it. same with upgrading the charging system as long as he's not doing long, heavy pulls. I've used my warn several times with single optima, stock 95A alternator, no issues with fairly short pulls.