Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Premium Member
16,978 Posts
Ok. Here it goes. Something for all you guys to go by...I hope.

I'm assuming that everyone has some experience with working on vehicles. So make sure that you practice proper safety. If you are not mechanically inclined, this isn't a project for you, however, it is not REAL difficult.

DISCLAIMER: I am by no means a mechanic. Follow these guidlines at your own risk. Some tools used for parts may be different for you vehicle as each individual vehicle can be unique. In a case where you feel you have a better method, please post that or PM me the info.

I managed to pull off a good amount of the tranny removal without jacking the truck up. However, make sure your wheels are chalked.

Remove the Rear Driveshaft

Remove the 4 driveshaft bolts from the rear axle using a 12mm or 1/2" 12-point socket or wrench.

Remove the 4 driveshaft bolts from transfer case using a 12mm or 1/2" wrench. You will not be able to remove the bolts using a socket. There's isn't enough clearance.

Once the bolts are out, pound the rear driveshaft out. I used my foot to accomplish this, just make sure someone is there to catch it.

Remove the front driveshaft

Remove the front driveshaft.Take the 4 nuts off the t-case yoke and the 4-nuts of the yoke on the front axle side of the front driveshaft. You will probably need a 1/2" wrench. Don't plan on re-using the u-bolts...so go ahead and try and beet them out. Once the nuts are off, use a prybar to pry the driveshaft free from the yokes.

In some instances, it may be necessary to cut the u-bolts with a grinder. It is best to cut them so that the "u" part of the bolts falls off. This allows you to pull the rest of the bolts out with vice-grips.

Remove the Starter

Remove the two bolts holding the starter to the bell housing. Be VERY careful not to break these. It will cause many headaches if you do.