Bronco Forum - Full Size Ford Bronco Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a noob with just enough experience in fixing vehicles to be dangerous. So be gentle! Lol...

My starter is toast. I shut my truck (1984 Bronco with 300) off yesterday and I heard a very loud buzzing coming from under the hood. I popped the hood and the starter was smoking. So I bumped the key and it stopped.

I took the starter off and it is in rough shape (picking up new one tomorow). But the flywheel teeth are nicked up.

Should I replace the flywheel immediately? Or do I have time that I can drive it as I wait for money and the means of pulling the engine to get to it?

More importantly... What causes this? I dont want to replace the flywheel and buy a new starter just to have to do it again.

I can post pictures of the flywheel teeth if anyone would find it helpful.

·
Super Moderator
26,988 Posts
yo,
Possible reasons;
Drives, Exploded, "Shims for Ford 2 bolt type, WAI PN 76-2306; "Shims needed due to worn thrust bearings in engine; Replaces Ford D7TZ-11N004; 2.3mm (.090 in.) T; Used w/ 2 or 3-hole D.E. housings. On engines with worn thrust bearings, the excessive crankshaft end play may cause pinion damage when the flywheel moves toward the starter. The 76-2306 helps prevent pinion damage by backing the starter away from the crankshaft flywheel..."
Source: by wai-wetherill.com